Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

Now and Forever

There’s a Carole King song that I stumbled over years ago (via the soundtrack album from “A League of Their Own”), which lately has been on my mind.

The video link below takes you to a YouTube video of Carole King performing it in front of a live audience, which is fine because most music videos I’ve found that feature the tune are a bit visually creepy, which distracts from a neat little tune.

So, particularly thinking of the Baby Band and my colleagues in (and not in!) the Alumni Band this past weekend, here are the lyrics, followed by the video link, upon which you are encouraged to click away!

 

NOW AND FOREVER

Carole King


Now and forever, you are a part of me / And the memory cuts like a knife

Didn’t we find the ecstasy, didn’t we share the daylight / When you walked into my life?

 

Now and forever, I’ll remember / All the promises still unbroken

And think about all the words between us / That never needed to be spoken

 

We had a moment, just one moment / That will last beyond a dream, beyond a lifetime

We are the lucky ones / Some people never get to do all we got to do

Now and forever, I will always think of you

 

Didn’t we come together, didn’t we live together?

Didn’t we cry together, didn’t we play together?

Didn’t we love together? / And together we lit up the world

 

I miss the tears, I miss the laughter / I miss the day we met and all that followed after

Sometimes I wish I could always be with you / The way we used to do

Now and forever, I will always think of you

Now and forever, I will always be with you

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZz7tx0WQag&feature=related

October 20, 2010 - Posted by | band, marching band, music, UMMB

1 Comment »

  1. “And together we lit up the world.” Yes, we did. And every time we let the things we learned in the UMMB show up in the way we live our lives, we continue to light up the world. It needs us these days! Here’s to becoming Santa.

    Comment by Steve Robinson | October 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

