Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

It’s A Start

A year ago this moment, I started this blog thingy.

Yes, that’s the technical term.

I enjoyed creative writing when I was a kid, to the point where I thought my dream job would be Newspaper Columnist (thank you, Ms. Howe, Mr. Tornrose, and every editor of The Daily Double) … so here, I thought, could be a place for my (probably largely inconsequential) stuff.

I would choose this year.

 

 

So. What Have We Learned?

[1] No major media outlet will ever refer to me as “the [insert adjective here: liberal, conservative, famous, notorious, informative, annoying] blogger”, if they refer to me at all. I can’t compete with the Huffington Post, Matt Drudge or other types whose whole claim to fame is online musings for fame or profit or political gain. I mostly write about band, for heaven’s sake.

[2] On the other hand, about media outlets: When life deals you (and/or a whole lot of your friends and colleagues) a really poor hand, sometimes a turn of phrase can help turn a corner. [2a] One of the best, most humbling feelings in the world is when someone suggests that they enjoyed one of your turns of phrase … or (heavens!) that it helped them turn a corner, too, somehow.

[3] Before clicking “publish”, it’s wise to consider the possibility that something you wrote may constitute jabbing at a hornet’s nest with a stick. It’s wise to hover over that online virtual clicky-button for a time. It’s wise to re-read your writing. It’s wise to debate whether you really want to jab that nest. It’s wise to consider what (and how many) hornets may emerge and try and sting you. And then …

Jab away. While we still have a First Amendment.

 

 

More to follow, I think.

September 3, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, Internet, journalism, media, writing | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Following…entertain me please! 🙂

    Comment by Katie | September 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. I rather enjoy your jabs.

    Comment by theheartfulfoodie | September 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

