Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

Is the Frog Dead Yet?

Well, the honeymoon is over.

I maintain this blog on this particular site for a number of good reasons, not the least of which is, it’s free. I pay not one red cent to have them take care of storing my writing, keeping track of how many visits the online world has made, and delivering my purple prose to a set of followers that keeps me focused on producing readable stuff with, you know, proper spelling and grammar.

It also has, quite frankly, the best little set of tools for maintaining a cheapskate website, and by cheapskate I mean zero dollars have changed hands – which not every website host can claim. My resume and bio are included here, too. Which, 99.9 percent of the time, is not risky. (Again with the True Believer Fans of A Certain Underage Opera Singing Sensation references!)

So, I cannot really complain much, or in fact at all. But I’m going to gently do it anyway.

 

Today, as I checked one of those teeny tiny links (which is to say, “www.ab.cd/efg” and the like) to see which of my posts was being referenced, I noted: for the first time in the sixteen months I’ve been with WordPress, there was an ad included within that post. A little video embed sat there – fortunately, between my post’s very last punchline paragraph and the list of tags that follow the whole thing, rather than somewhere more irritating than, say, right bang in the middle of the essay, or JUST above the final paragraph that (if I do my job right) ties the whole article together.

I don’t know what the ad was advertising. I didn’t click on the link. I did, however, toss up my hands, just for a moment, and mutter, “–hey!…”

Kinda like the first time in many decades that they started parking commercial advertisements and corporate logos on the left-field wall at Fenway Park. I did the same thing. –Hey! … that space is sacred. Or at least, if an outfielder looks up to play the carom off the wall and loses the ball in the “Bob’s Clothing” sign, is that a ground-rule double? And if a reader is distracted from my point by seeing a marauding video link, how “foul” can I cry?

Kinda like the first time after I joined Facebook that the FB powers-that-be decided to change the layout of the thing. I hated it … but after awhile I couldn’t think of what the previous incarnation had even looked like. (Now the current Timeline thing? … oh my good Lord, don’t get me started.)

Considering that WordPress isn’t charging me any money at all for the privilege of utilizing their resources to advance my writing into the world, I probably have no business complaining. They’ve got to find some way to raise some bucks, and I would prefer that they not go under. At the same time, I don’t care much for them using my writing space to connect people to products or services or even candidates that I wouldn’t promote myself. But in this struggle between two competing concepts, perhaps WordPress’ concept wins this round.

Except: they’re offering a sort of opt-out option. If I don’t want these ads appearing on my posts, I can acquire WordPress’ “No Ads Upgrade”. I can have a blog completely empty of ad content. (Just like I did before today.)

For a mere thirty bucks a year.

 

All right, okay, you win. Money talks. As always. It always comes back to money. Just ask the folks who invented “Citizens United”.

So, I guess all I can say is this:

Please do not click on these advertising links if you don’t want to. They’re not my idea. …

The opinions and claims expressed in these advertisements are those of the advertising agencies and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editorial License blog. …

Any rebroadcast, retransmission, or account of this game, without the express written consent of Major League Baseball, is prohibited. …

Look, Dave, I can see you’re really upset about this. I honestly think you ought to sit down calmly, take a stress pill and think things over. I know I’ve made some very poor decisions recently, but I can give you my complete assurance that my work will be back to normal. I’ve still got the greatest enthusiasm and confidence in the mission. …

Daisy, Daisy …

October 27, 2012 - Posted by | blogging, Facebook, social media, technology, writing | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

