Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

The 31-Day Blog Challenge, Day 1: Intro

I am not by any stretch the only blogger I know. A friend of mine blogs quite prolifically and passionately about educational policy … another friend blogs about the business she’s spent the last few years building up (go give her the business, would ya?) … and another couple of friends blog occasionally about music teaching … and they all do so in ways that remind me that I still have much to learn.

One of my blogging colleagues is also a former student of mine. Her blog is also in support of a business she’s trying to create, here … and something she’s begun to do in the last couple of weeks is respond to the writing prompts in a “31 Day Blog Challenge”. Tell you what – go read her stuff … it’s good. I’ll be here when you get back.

Anyway.

The “31 Day Blog Challenge” is one of those social-media-borne time-sucking exercises. And if there’s a personality trait of mine that I don’t care for [that’ll be Day 19], it’s my ability to fall prey to the Time Suck. But this particular exercise of Time Suck may help me re-energize this here Blogge. Which has been sorely neglected in the last fiscal quarter, for various quality reasons that are nonetheless not excuses. It’s just a good thing Editorial License isn’t a paid-subscription enterprise.

(Actually, here’s why, at least in large part: I have indeed been inspired to write, yes I have … but trust me, you don’t want to read aggrieved rant after monotonous aggrieved rant about the Orange-Skinned Short-Fingered Vulgarian. It’s everywhere else online as it is.)

So, in the next, well, thirty days now, I’ll be responding to writing prompts that range from fluffy silly questions to serious navel gazing … and I’ll be hoping that you can read those responses and feel like your time was well spent. Or even that you perhaps were inspired to respond to those prompts yourself – either in print or inside your head as you take care of your other earthly responsibilities.

31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE QUESTION, DAY ONE: Introduction.

That was it.

(There! Day One done. Was that so hard?)

Now, on to the rest of the Challenge.

Ready … set …

May 1, 2016 - Posted by | blogging, friends, writing | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

