Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

The 31-Day Blog Challenge, Day Six: Enough About Me

31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE, DAY 6: 3 personality traits I am proud of.

First: I’m a weird combination of stubborn and flexible.

I have it on good authority that I can be very very very quietly entrenched about some things. I’m happy to accept your advice and counsel, and I will smile sweetly and thank you for that advice and counsel; and then proceed with the plan I’d had in mind, which hopefully was borne of a great deal of aforethought and consideration and I think it’s the plan that will work best. But thank you.

But it’s been worthwhile, in many situations in my life, to be pretty flexible about some other things. Have to change the game plan because the restaurant we wanted to visit was closed? Make the adjustment; better luck (or planning) next time. Didn’t have quite as many low brass players show up as we thought might? I’ll break out my tenor sax and do a little at-sight transposition. “Blessed are the flexible, for they shall not be bent out of shape.” It didn’t come from the Bible; but it still works. Keeping the blood pressure low is always a good goal, I think.

Second: I like being punctual.

I hate it when I’m late for something. Anything. Meeting, rehearsal … whatever. In fact, I consciously aim to get where I’m going on the early side. Sometimes I think this is because I like to have a moment to take a deep breath, literally or metaphorically, before starting in on whatever meeting or project I’m involved with. Other times I just think I hate to walk in late because it stems from my initial personality trait, which was utter shyness. Certainly I don’t want to be the object of the rest of the internal monologues in the room: “we made it on time; what’s your excuse?”

To be early is to be on time,” the saying goes. (And then “To be on time is to be late.” And then, depending on which era you marched at UMass during, which is terrible grammar, I know: “To be late is to be early for tomorrow’s rehearsal” OR “to be late is to be dead.”)

Third, but possibly first: “modest”.

I don’t want to brag, but … I don’t want to brag. I’ve been around people who have made bold claims, and backed them up. I’ve been around people who’ve made bold claims, and absolutely did NOT back them up. I know whom I’ve preferred to do business with.

Isn’t it oddly oxymoronic to toot one’s own horn about one’s own modesty? Let someone else toot your horn, not you! … So does this mean I’ve failed at that, somehow? Hmmmmmm.

In fact, this whole post took a bit of work.

But enough about me, let’s talk about you. … What do you think of me?

May 6, 2016 - Posted by | blogging, Starred Thoughts | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

