Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

The 31-Day Blog Challenge, Day Thirteen: I’ve Heard It Said…

Today’s writing prompt:

31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE, DAY 13: “Favorite quote”

 

Given the presence in my life of a couple of people who were and are apt to invent a Great Quote in an offhanded way just over lunch … I could park a list of “Starred Thoughts” in this space and be done with this exercise.

Instead, I’ll go with a series of quotes (can’t decide on just one, of course) that I’ve collected at various moments in my life, and which have stuck with me. They’re in no order of significance, other than alphabetical. Except for the last one, because, well, it’s Bernstein!

<*throat-clearing*>

 

A big part of teaching involves helping kids make it through periods when they feel inadequate.Larry Blocher, Wichita State University director of bands

A friend is one who you’ve just met; yet have known forever.Gina Vanaria

A professional is someone who can do his best work when he doesn’t feel like it.Alistair Cooke

Absence is to love what wind is to fire; it extinguishes the small, it enkindles the great.Comte. de Bussy-Rabutin

Acquaintance I would have, but when’t depends / Not on the number but the choice of friends.Abraham Cowley, Of Myself

As long as I give audiences their favorites, I can do anything else I want for me.Kenny Rogers

But if the while I think on thee, dear friend, / All losses are restored and sorrows end.William Shakespeare, Sonnets

Do you think that the things people make fools of themselves about are any less real and true than the things they behave sensibly about?George Bernard Shaw, Candide, Act I

Great spirits have often encountered violent opposition from weak minds.Albert Einstein

I am a great believer in luck and I find that the harder I work the more I have of it.Stephen Leacock

I say to my jazz history students, a lot of times when I’m watching basketball, I’m watching away from the ball. To see what everybody else is doing. And that’s what people do as they get more and more into music, more and more aware of the complexity that goes into it.Jeff Holmes

Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.Mark Twain

Never try to make your man look better by making somebody else look worse. That is not a good plan. It leads to bad feelings — and it’s not necessary. If your man is good enough, he will show.Joel Sheveloff

No one is under a moral obligation to remain in the vicinity of, to keep working with, or even to keep living with, another person whose behavior is demoralizing, severely upsetting or stress-producing.Robert M. Branson, Ph.D, Coping With Difficult People

One of the things I keep learning is that the secret of being happy is doing things for other people.Dick Gregory

The game of life is not so much holding a good hand as playing a poor one.H.T. Leslie

There are two ways of exerting one’s strength: one is pushing down, the other is pulling up.Booker T. Washington

There’s nothing like facing the prospect of making new friends to make one treasure ‘old’ friends.Nancy Locklin

What really flatters a man is that you find him worth flattering.George Bernard Shaw

Give me all you’ve got, then crescendo!!Leonard Bernstein

May 13, 2016 - Posted by | blogging, Famous Persons, Starred Thoughts | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

