Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

The 31-Day Blog Challenge, Day Twelve: If I Won the Lottery

[Ed. Note: due to factors totally within the control of the Blogge’s management, we present yesterday’s post, today.]

 

The writing prompt of the day:

31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE, DAY 12: “If I won the lottery…”

 

You miss one hundred percent of the shots you don’t take,” said the great philosopher and recreational basketball player Michael Jordan. Which explains, at long last, why I’ve never been able to hit the lottery.  I get it now.

But what if I did hit it?

What if I won a hundred, or a thousand, or a million dollars?

Think big. Why not? Let’s play around with a million bucks’ worth of make-believe.

The first thing I would announce to the world would be this: “Hi, everyone: all the money is staying within the family. Thank you very much for your interest, press conference over.”

Because the easiest way to destroy friendships, to stoke the fires of jealousy and envy, to create divisions, to sow seeds of horrible, is with issues of money.

So I would explain gently that in order to try to preserve as much as possible of what was, and enhance what will be … the money would go toward certain needs within my little extended family.

Beyond that … no comment.

Cleverly, I would end that press conference before defining exactly what counts as family.

As the great philosopher and recreational science officer Spock of Vulcan once said, “I did not lie. I … exaggerated.”

May 13, 2016 - Posted by | blogging, family | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

