Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

The 31-Day Blog Challenge, Day Twenty-Five: Dance: Ten; Looks: Three

Today’s writing prompt:

31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE, DAY 25: “best physical features”.

 

I have to assume that the creators of the prompt meant the blogger’s own physical features, rather than anyone else’s. Anyone, say, famous.

Y’know … Tom Brady’s chin. The late Leonard Nimoy’s arched right eyebrow. The muscles in LeBron James’ upper arms. Other stereotypically admired physical features of other famous persons (this a family blog; if you’re interested in those physical features, there are other sources; I’ll be here when you get back).

But it’s just lil’ ol’ me.

We’re all our own toughest critics. I can offer proof of this by summarizing my own personal inventory of physical features, carried out while trying to determine what I could possibly list as my best ones:

Nope. Nope. No. I … don’t think so. Not really. Sorta, but no. No. Nope. Oh my no.”

I don’t stand in front of mirrors for hours on end, admiring. I stand in front of mirrors for a long time when I can’t get that frackin’ necktie to tie properly; and to make sure I don’t look like I dressed in the dark … especially when I actually did. But other than that, I don’t primp, preen, pose.

 

Therefore, I’ve come up with five items of which to make note …

[] My freckles mark me as a fellow of English and Irish descent.

[] When I’m doing musical conducting, my hands remind me somewhat of a conductor and teacher of mine whose leadership I admired and tried to emulate, greatly.

[] My red hair used to be a LOT more screamingly red than it is now. There’s not much left, but what’s left does well when the sun hits it.

[] In particular, the color of my beard did a great job, for a long while, of disguising the presence of greyer hair.

[] My knees make fetching maracas sounds when I come out of the catcher’s crouch.

 

So pleased to be done with this particular prompt. See you tomorrow.

May 25, 2016 - Posted by | blogging | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

