Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

The 31-Day Blog Challenge, Day Twenty-Nine: Before the Kick

Today’s writing prompt:

31 DAY BLOG CHALLENGE, DAY 29: “top things on my bucket list”.

 

I’m going to have to get back to you on this one. I’ll say that up front.

For fun, I Googled “weird bucket list items”. That was fun in and of itself. But now look. I’m all for adventure, but some of these ideas would cause the bucket moment to arrive well ahead of schedule. To wit:

Do the Polar Bear Plunge. Take your picture with a tiger. Go skydiving. Run with the bulls in Pamplona. Swim with sharks. Jump off a waterfall. Survive a tornado. Fly into a hurricane. Bungee jump.

I’m not a fraidy-cat – well, no, actually I am. Read my piece on my trouble with climbing four steps up a ladder and you’ll sense just what an utter lie that was. I guess I just have a different definition of adventure than some of my online colleagues do.

 

Most of the bucket-list lists that I’ve found online have been to do with seeing places and doing things.

Yes, there are places in the world I’ve never seen (heck, there are places in the US that I’ve never seen, and I can see those without a passport). And there are places in the world that I haven’t visited in a great long while, which are probably are different now, or which certainly I would perceive differently now that I’m not 12 anymore (hello London! Hello Paris!).

And yes, there are interesting things that I’ve never done. Plenty. That list will always be longer than the list of things that I have done. If I’m looking to be a comprehensive achiever, let’s be honest, I’m tilting at windmills. (Hey! Maybe that’s a bucket list item. Hello Netherlands!)

Happily, there are bucket-list items on some folks’ bucket lists (and items which nobody appears to have thought of at all) which, thanks to my associations with people and my adventures within my chosen profession, I crossed off my bucket list pretty early. (Accompany someone singing “Alice’s Restaurant”. Write a Christmas cantata. Throw a mace, roll, catch, wave at between 4,000 and 8,000 people. Boom. Done.)

 

So, again … even though I’ve had four weeks to think about this one since I started this little writing-prompt festival, I’m going to have to get back to you. For now, here’s one thing I know I want to do before the bucket gets tipped over:

See my niece and nephew take over the world.

Because they will.

May 29, 2016 - Posted by | blogging, family, travel | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

