Editorial License

Rob Hammerton, music educator etc.

Lashing Out

So here we are, now just over two months away from a Trump Administration.

Regular readers of the Blogge will know that I’ve spent the last seven weeks recapping my activity upon the mighty Facebook, wherein every morning I have stood up in firm opposition not just to the campaign of the man who is now the President-elect, but in firm revulsion to the actual man.

What’s really frustrating is that all those haikus and all those links to articles and all those heartfelt-but-snarky memes and all those FB status posts of mine … fell on the ears of the already-converted.

And probably fell upon very very few of the People who needed to know what kind of star to which They were hitching Their wagon. Or, much more disconcertingly, the People who knew exactly what awful attitudes and behavior Their votes would sanction, not just in Their candidate but by extension in Themselves … and were okay with that.

And I live in a very very deep blue state, surrounded by other very very blue states. And so, from the relative safety and security and naivete of that bubble of belief that I was living in a country whose population was, by and large, decent … did I do enough, could I have done more, could I have done enough, did I have any hope of doing any more to reach the People Who Needed To Be Swayed?

And by “People Who Needed To Be Swayed”, I mean …

the People who don’t think They know any gay or lesbian people, so why should They care, and anyway they make Them feel icky, so why should they have rights? …

the People who don’t think women are any great thing to be respected …

the People who think anybody remotely brown is inherently inferior to Their white Selves …

the People who think it’s okay to discriminate against or protest against or legislate against or get violent against anybody who doesn’t worship Their particular version of God …

the People who think college degrees are for suckers, since They know what They know, and that’s enough for Them? …

I think that in any case, I’m not in the right frame of mind, yet, to reach out and try to communicate with the People who will one day need to be reached. And I don’t think They are, either.

 

When Snoopy stands on top of his comic-strip doghouse and reaches out a hand of friendship to the ferocious housecat next door, he does so while wearing a hockey glove on that hand. Which gets a laugh from the reader. And in the next strip, Snoopy promptly gets the hockey glove absolutely shredded by cat claws. Which also gets a laugh.

Right now, I’m not sure which character I am, in that little comic strip analogy.

Because … well, I’ll be honest. My version of reaching out, right now, today, only 24 hours afterward, to the People who have collectively caused my country to be prospectively led by an utterly dangerous person – and yes, it’s still my country, y’all, as much as it is yours, and we have to figure that out, too … well, my version of that reaching out might easily be characterized as lashing out.

And I’m not even a member of nearly any of those groups that the Vulgar Talking Yam and his Supporters will go after first. In the list of “First They Came For”s, I’m kinda low on the priority list. For the moment, at least.

See, there I go. Lashing out. It’s not something I’ve ever advocated. As a church-goin’, church-giggin’ person, it’s really not my top thing. And on the rare occasions in the past when I’ve done it myself, it hasn’t worked out well anyway. Frankly I’m just not that good at it.

So it’ll be a moment or two before I can come up with something constructive. I have no doubt that I will. But today may not be when it occurs to me.

Lemme get back to you on that.

 

So. Were my artistic expressions really enough?

Did they do any more than galvanize the already-sufficiently galvanized? Did they energize anyone to actually go out and vote, who wasn’t planning to anyway? Did they convince anyone who was a Bernie guy (person) (whatever) like me to go out and vote for Hillary, and not for Gary or Jill because in our admittedly flawed system a concentrated level of support for Hillary was the only realistic avenue for stopping the Short-Fingered Vulgarian, for the good of the Republic and for the good of the concept of civility and decency?

Were haikus really enough?

I’m worried that I know the answer to that question, and that it’s not the answer I would have wished for. And I’m worried that, in the cold morning light and with the sharp focus of hindsight, it’s been revealed unto me as exactly the tepid effort that it seems now.

Midterm elections are, at least so far as we now know, just two years away.

Thinkin’ that soon it’ll be time to get started on more than just seventeen syllables worth of outrage at a time.

November 9, 2016 - Posted by | arts, civil rights, current events, Facebook, government, news, politics, social media | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

